Copyright: W. Davison 2014

Photo Shoot Fun

Copyright: W. Davison 2014
Copyright: W. Davison 2014

Something Fun

Adrienne and I have always been fond of taking cool “old school” pictures. We have a decent 35mm camera and two digital cameras that are par of the normal photo op while on vacation or putting around on the scooter. We do have fun and it has been a goal of mine to share these “back in the day” photos with more than my friends and family.

I had an idea a few months back to make a calendar… it sounds simple, right? Well it does take time, resources and a bit of creativity… a few great photos and a bit of time setting up the calendar on ‘Snapfish’, and you off and running. Sounds easy!

Well it was a lot harder than I thought.

For every person who says they will “Love to help out” or “I can’t wait! it sounds like fun!” you must remember… that to do something great, it usually will be on your shoulders. I found out that volunteering sounds good until the person you asked to help has a better gig, or has to help someone else, or just plain doesn’t show up. ¬†You have to stay focused, get up and put your “I am in charge” face on and go do it with or without the help of your friends.

Copyright: W. Davison 2014
Copyright: W. Davison 2014

August 16th was a beautiful day, bright sunny skies. A warm morning with plenty of daylight to take photos. The photo shoot turned out perfect! The old cars were pulling in as I pulled up on my 1956 BMW R50.

Copyright: W. Davison 2014
Copyright: W. Davison 2014

With an assistant, two models, a very trusting friend loaning me her SLR camera and three great guys driving their old classics to the staging area, our photo shoot began (of course after some signing of waivers and providing some information to all participants about drinking lots of water, describing the style of photography and that no one was going to get rich).

Copyright: W. Davison 2014
Copyright: W. Davison 2014

The day presented many great photographs, classic cars, open fields and scenic backgrounds. With a few adjustments and filtering I had over 400 photos to begin the task of searching for those two or three “Great Shots” and use them to create a portfolio to show business owners my ideas and present to them why there business should “pony up” for the advertising calendar.

Copyright: W. Davison 2014
Copyright: W. Davison 2014

With the lessons learned from my first photo shoot I do believe that the next “Fall Scene” photo shoot will turn out great and I should have enough to get 6 or 7 months of the calendar completed. I have already started planning the next shoot, and will hope to present more “Great Shots” at the end of September.

Copyright: W. Davison 2014
Copyright: W. Davison 2014
Leave a Reply

